Family · Home · kids

Kids have bad days too….  (short read) 

We all have bad days, right? I mean–don’t talk to me, I am in a bad mood days. Don’t you dare say that rude comment you want to say right now-because I will bust you days. Don’t even THINK to speak to me right now, or I might FLIP MY LID days. They happen. 

And then we have the days, where we are emotional wrecks. Sometimes, all we need to do is have a good ol’ fashion cry-it-out. Maybe we have a reason to be upset. Maybe we don’t. But as adults, we roll with it. If someone else is having “a day” as one of my old teachers used to call it, we can coddle them. Or we can take a step back and  give them their space. We just do. Its protocol. 

Now children on the other hand, are not allowed to have bad days. Or so most adults think. And this seriously KILLS ME! Kids are allowed to have terrible days too! It happens! They may not be able to relay EXACTLY how they are feeling to us, or what happened to put them in such an emotional state, but they do have bad days! 

Talking with a friend today reminded me of this. She said “One time a while back, you told me that kids can have bad days too..and I had never thought of that. Adults have bad days all the time, why can’t kids??!!” Next came her “Mind blown” gesture. 

 But really, I don’t think we let kids have bad days enough, and that slightly makes me feel bad as a Momma sometimes. We want our kiddos to be tiny model citizens–and that isn’t happening when they are having a meltdown in the aisle at Target. Or when the sweet little old lady says ” How are you doing handsome man ?” And all he can say back is “NO.” Cue my apologies “So sorry. We’re having a bad day.” 

I’ve learned that giving them those days are important-especially when papaw is wanting his high five and the kiddos won’t cooperate. “Just give them a little break. They aren’t having a good day.” Not that this is my excuse for them, but really—-sometimes they just arent’ having a great day! They haven’t had the training we as adults have had in controlling emotions. That is a trait learned over time and I think it’s something we all need to realize. It’s going to take time for them to get it! And at some point they will. This is why we don’t see grown men crying in the aisle over the mower they couldn’t buy that day. 🙈

So for all you Mamas with teeny babies, just a reminder: They aren’t bad. It’s just a rough day. 

For all the older ones, whose kids have flown the coop, remember–Your kids had the same days. Cut those parents some slack!!! 

For all of you who dont’ have kids–Oh just wait. Your time is coming. 🙂 

So please, let’s try to understand these little humans big emotions and try to help them through them! It’s a learning process for us all. Keep this thought in mind and maybe next time the breakdown comes, we can take a step back and remember–It’s just a bad day!!!! 

Chin up buttercup 😘

3 thoughts on “Kids have bad days too….  (short read) 

  1. This post reminds me of a book I read to my little man. it’s called My No No No Day. And through the whole book I think I would totally give that Girl a swat on her tushy but by the end of the story the girl tells her mommy she’s sorry that she was having a bad day. Thanks for this post just another good reminder of how we need to help our kiddos learn, not expect them to already have it figured out.

    Like

    1. I need this book!!! And my son has done the same–he will say tomorrow he will be better! The. I know it was a bad day– we just have to learn to differentiate between bad days–and just being bad 🤣😬😝

      Like

Leave a Reply

