Family · Travel

Traveling with Toddlers – What you need 

This family made our first trip to Disney– It should be about a 8 hour trip for us, but ended up being closer to 11 hours thanks to a detour… Thanks a lot roadwork. Appreciate it. 👌🏻

 But with 2 boys under the age of 5, we HAD to keep them entertained on such a long trip. So I wanted to share a few tried and true travel methods to keep everyone in your vehicle sane! 

1. Coloring Items

I think this is kind of a given, but with littles, this is a huge distraction! I got these little felt boards and it kept my 5 year old busy off and on the whole trip down. And where did I buy this amazing item, you might ask? Dollar Tree. Beautiful, beautiful, Dollar tree. ( You will see a pattern throughout this post with the Dollar Tree theme. )    We were also gifted these cute little travel cases last week (Whew! Just in time) and they have been a life saver! On one side, they have a dry erase board, and on the other, is a tray with a cup holder! Whoever thought of this–kudos to you. 👍🏻 And why don’t we see these everywhere?? I have never seen anything like this before last week–but i am telling you–your family needs these. ASAP. Even now that we are back home, Ford is toting his around and playing with it. Winning.  ** I can’t find an exact match to what we have, but here is a Target “dupe”, if you will, that would work nicely as well. Click here To shop these travel cases


2. Gifts

Who doesn’t love presents??? Especially the little humans in the car. They have been looking forward to these gifts for a week now–and the anticipation factor is awesome on the car trip. Also-I couldn’t remember what I packed, so it was just as much a suprise for me too! Something about wrapping them in their own packages makes it that much more special 🙂 They loved it and I kind of wish I would have packed enough for the car trip home too-Keep that in mind for your next trip y’all-presents both ways. 


3. Snacks

I’m talking snacks galore. We brought probably 20+food  items to choose from. We have dried fruit, candy, rice krispie’s, slim jims, nutter butters, grapes etc. Happy kids=Happy parents. Not gonna lie y’all, these came in handy for all the adults in the vehicle as well. Why does sitting in a car make you so hungry? 

4. DVD’s

The van we rented doesn’t have a DVD player, but we brought a handheld player and it does the job. In our personal vehicle, we have a DVD player and it is a lifesaver on our oh-so-frequent Ohio trips. Believe me-lifesaver.On this trip, one DVD to start the trip was enough! Might I add, this trip-the kiddos were AMAZING. So good. No tears. NO sadness. AMAZING. I would like to attribute some of this to our preparedness 🙂 

5. Projects for the kids

One of the boy’s gifts was a $1.00 lego police car kit. It was only 24 pieces and was a nice little project for me to do with him 🙂 I got it at Dollar Tree, so if we happened to lose a piece, I wouldn’t be so devastated.  See here… Although the whole way through the project, Ford said, ” I DON’T want to lose any pieces. I DON’T.” So if lost pieces may pose a problem with your toddler-fair warning. Maybe  you should stay away from this project. Or maybe this would be a good project for when the kids are antsy at the condo! Either way, a $1.00 gift is totally worth it. Dollar tree for the win! 

 I also grabbed a 24 piece puzzle at Dollar Tree for the condo if we had some down time. I tried to keep everything Mickey themed as much as possible! 
Another gift I brought was this little Mickey travel book for my little guy–and he loved that the pen made the whole page different colors! Also-no need for mom to have to pick up dropped crayons the whole trip. #win. 

These are just a few travel tips I found helpful, and hopefully you will too! 

Let me know what you think and if you have any other helpful ideas, please put the in the comments! I would love to hear your ideas, as we are constantly taking little trips to Ohio and need all the help we can get 🙂 

Make sure to  Pin on Pinterest and subscribe to the blog y’all. 

All the love ❤️ 

2 thoughts on “Traveling with Toddlers – What you need 

  1. I’m so excited for our trip up north in a couple months, I have been preparing for it already! I’ve been pinning ideas like crazy, I thought I’d share a few…
    I’m using $1 cookie sheet from dollar tree (😉) and adding dry erase stick down sheet to the top of it. Small Puzzles (again dollar tree!) with magnets to the back of each piece to put together on the tray. Dry erase markers for coloring on the tray as well!
    Hourly travel bag of gifts, every hour the kiddos each get to pull a gift out to have something new to play with. For this I’m thinking glow sticks, sticky hands, matchbox cars, books, sticker books, candy. All these items are $1 from you know where.
    A pencil box with legos in it for my oldest and the leapfrog abc magnets for my youngest.
    The entertainment is endless. I could go on and on, I feel like I’m more prepared for the time traveling than the trip itself! 🙂

    Like

    1. Omg love all these ideas!!! You are so prepared for the trip 😺 I’ll keep some of these in mind for next time 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

