Deals · Family · Travel

Top Disney Tips and Tricks 

Can’t believe we have been gone from Disney World a week already. Ugh I miss it so much.  Walt Disney wanted you to enter and totally leave all cares behind. He 100% accomplished that! We had the time of our lives and I am really hoping for a week there next year 🙂 

Anyone taking a trip to Florida anytime soon? If so, Disney is a MUST on the list…and if I ever find myself moving to Florida, season passes are #1 on my list.  

If you are a Disney first timer, keep this is mind. YOU NEED TO GET THERE EARLY. We arrived there around 8:40 as the doors opened at 9. We didn’t get to our first ride until after 10am! My goodness it was wild. We didn’t realize you have to take a boat ride/monorail to get TO THE PARK front the parking lot. After a trolley ride to the ticket booth. Its quite the process. It’s fun to ride the boat, but takes a while ! Seriously –get there early. EARLY. 

So our arrival went a little something like this…Drive in to the parking space. Unload the car. We knew we shouldn’t totally put our stroller together because we had to ride the trolley to the front of the park….so my husband carried it. We have the kind of stroller you hook to your bike. Know what I am talking about? It’s got the huge arm on the front and rides So SMOOOOOTH. We were so excited to use it! 

**Here are the kiddos on the trolley on the way to the park. They were so excited to ride! This was the first ride of the day for them–and they couldn’t have been happier.** 

So anyways,  the macho Hubby carried that monster stroller to the trolley. Held it on the trolley-then once we got to the boat, we put it together. It was perfect–held the cooler, all our snacks, sunscreen, everything! Everyone was happy-until we got to the entrance. “Umm..ma’am. I don’t think these are allowed in. Let me call someone over to check it.” Hearts sank. The manager man came over and confirmed our fears. “I’m so sorry but he is right. We don’t allow these in the park because of the tripping hazard.” 

Perfect. Now we have to walk this thing back to the car and go fork out another $31.00 to rent a double stroller. But we kept our composure, and I looked at the sweet little man and asked,  ” Ok, so what would our next step be?” 

“Thank you for understanding. It’s all for everyone’s safety.  I am going to give a voucher for your stroller. Follow me.”  

At this point, we are still confused. Is he GIVING us the stroller to use??? Sure enough, he comp’d us a stroller! SO what could have been miserable, turned awesome! And he wasn’t kidding BTW…. As we were trading our stroller for the Disney stroller, I tripped over that dang arm. It would have been terrible to take that through the park. THANK GOODNESS for nice workers at Disney. He said most people pitch a fit and he really appreciated we didn’t get upset with him.

Moral of the story, be nice to the workers!!!! They may help you out when you least expect it. 

Notice our cooler on the stroller? This thing was awesome! We packed 6 waters, 2 pepsi’s and 2 Capri sun’s. For one 20 oz coke, it cost $3.50 at the park! Taking the cooler was a huge help for us. Keep in mind you can bring whatever snacks and drinks you would like into the park! I couldn’t believe that!!! SO we packed chips and snacky things to get us through the day. We bought one meal while we were there, and just ate/drank what we brought otherwise. 

Another great thing, any quick stop places will give you cups of water for FREE!!! So if we ever got thirsty, we just grabbed a cup of water and went on our merry way 🙂 

Next item up for business : Fast Passes

Through the  Disney app, everyone gets 3 fast passes. We set ours up in walking order through the park. (Walk to the left when you get in the park, because people all turn right when they first come in, supposedly) 

The first ride we tried was Pirates of the Caribbean. Not a good idea when you have little boys who are scared of everything. It was a very easy going boat ride, but my goodness they were scared out of their little minds and cried the whole ride. 

The next ride we used a fast pass for was Splash Mountain. This was one of our favorite rides!!!! I definitely recommend using a fast pass for this ride–and we used it during lunch time so it was a nice cool down for us 🙂  **If you are worried about getting SOAKED–DON’T FRET! This ride gets you wet, ut you won’t be soaked. Your shoes also stay dry, so no squishy tennis shoes while you are walking the park. **

At some point during the day, we decided to try to ride “It’s a small world.” We waited in line for maybe 15-20 minutes and then they announced the ride wasn’t working, but we were welcome to wait for a bit for it to come back up. So maybe 50% of the people in line left, and we waited a while longer. Then the next announcement came–the ride wasn’t coming back up. SO everyone who waited in line got a fast pass for their group to use on any ride!!!! Awesome in my opinion as I did NOT want to do that ride. 

Our last fast pass, we used on Peter Pan. That was a favorite for kids and adults alike. I would loved to have done this one twice–but almost every single ride had wait times of one hour or longer. Ugh. We only did 2 rides with a wait time close to an hour and those were Jungle Cruise and Buzz Lightyear. The jungle cruise was lame to me, but kiddies loved it so I’ll call it a win. Buzz lightyear was SO FUN and Ford went on it twice–Yay!!!

Right after the ride, we met Buzz and this was a highlight for the boys. If you ask him about Disney , the little is going to say “We saw Buzz Lightyear!” He loved it!!!!! 

Another thing–remember those free fast passes we got? Instead of everyone using a fast pass for one ride, we split them up so the kids could do more rides. So while my dad took Ford on Buzz Lightyear for the second time, My sister and I took Cash to ride Winnie the Pooh. I wish we didn’t use a fast pass for this one as the line for this ride is so much cooler than the ride itself! There are plenty of little fun interactive things for the kiddos to do and keep them busy in the line, ** Side note,  if you get motion sick–maybe stay away from this ride, ok? 

Notice my kiddos amazing little hats??? Yea, so did everyone else. EVERYONE was asking where we got them in the park. They wanted to buy some too! But you won’t find them in the park. 

In fact, not a single kid I saw had hats like theirs. I loved that they were little originals, even in Disney world where everyone is looking so similar. Want to buy some yourself? 

I’m going to share my secret with you all—and its an amazing little shop on Etsy. Click here To shop these amazing little lids. Any kid would love to have these hats, regardless of whether or not you are going to Disney!  Check out the little details on this Baymax hat. 

My kids loved these so much and your kids will too! Look at this awesome Lightning McQueen one. 
 Click here For your own cute Dizzy Lid. 🙂 I can’t say enough awesome things about these hats. They kept the kiddos from getting burnt on our Florida trip and the boys wore them at some point almost every day we were down there. Now I plan on them WEARING THESE OUT this summer. Thanks again Dizzylidz. 🙂 

Visit her website at Www.Dizzylidz.com
Another thing–almost every family you see at Disney has matching Mickey tee’s. Now we matched(ish) but no one had shirts like ours! I was actually really shocked about that one. I thought we would see at least a few families with mama/papa bear shirts. But nope-none!! 

I bought Dale and Cash’s shirts at JCP before we left for $5.00! (What what??) I ordered the decal for Ford’s “Man Cub” shirt on Etsy and applied it to this cute little tee I scored from ….where else? Target. 

Now my shirt—I LOVED. It came from an awesome shop on Etsy with some of the cutest tees, tanks, and Raglans I’ve ever seen. I’m not kidding. They are HYSTERICAL and ADORABLE. Do yourself ( or maybe a good friend) a favor,and go visit Sydney at the Fickle Fox. Her shirts are amazing and I can’t wait for my next one 😉 

I will be wearing this tank all summer for sure! It’s so soft and the print is so dang CUTE! Again, shop Here for some awesome tees for the family–you won’t be disappointed!  Check out one of my fav outfits below…. 
Shop @shop_ficklefox here ! ANd make sure to follow her on Instagram at @fickle_fox. 

Another fun freebie from Disney? Celebration pins! There are several to choose from, so tell them what you are celebrating, and those ticket booth peeps will hook you up. We made my husband wear his for a picture (but he promptly took it off out of embarrassment. And yes-now it’s all over the internet. ) 

Another hit at the park–our Mickey ears! I couldn’t believe the amount of people who said they loved our ears–workers included! One girl said–I have never seen ears like those–could you make me some??” I happily said yes–and wish I would have gotten her name. I so would have sent her a pair. Anybody HERE want a pair?? I’m thinking of doing a giveaway and including some fun ears for someone… 😬😬😬.. What do you think????

** Check out how to make these a few posts back!!!** 
One last must see—-the Castle. Get up close. It’s gorgeous and amazing and phenomenal and probably should be my home. ( I know -we all think that) 

Even more so, see it at night. And then wait–and see it at closing time when they do the light show/fireworks. I may or may not be telling the truth when I say it made me teary-eyed. I did not want to leave this beautiful place, and that show at the end just sealed it. It’s a must see and probably should be on every person’s bucket list..


One more tip for the road–bring your kiddos some gifts to give while you are at the park. I bought these lollipops at Dollar Tree before our trip, along with the keychains and gave them to the kids towards the end of the day when I thought they needed a boost. The suckers at Disney were $4.00 a piece y’all!!! Paying $1.00 and toting them for a while was so worth it. And the keychains? $1.00 at DT as well, and made a cute little gift for them to keep 🙂 



I also bought glow sticks and brought them for night time and they were a hit! Great buy when you consider those light things they sell there are $24.00!!!!!!! Gosh that is steep…  But any guess where I got ours?? DT again.. Score. 

**And if possible, visit the Disney Character Warehose in the Orlando Premium Outlets. The prices are UNREAL. They had hats for  $1.99, jewelry for $4.99, HUGE TOYS for $1.99, and even last years tee shirts for 99 CENTS. Are you joking me???? And while were at it–that whole outlet mall had AMAZING prices!!!! Shop there if you get a chance… its a few minutes from Disney and so worth your trip!!!! **

 So sad that all trips have to come to and end–so that being said–I ask that you take as many pictures as your family will allow! It’s hard to remember everything, so if you can freeze the moment-it’s now a forever memory. Try to capture every moment and enjoy the time you have at this amazing place!!!!! It’s a perfect family trip and worth every penny. If it’s possible, take your littles–or even do a couples trip to the happiest place on earth! I can’t say it enough–GO. GO. GO. 

Let me know what ideas/tips you have for Disney and make sure to Pin to Pinterest for later! 
All the love y’all 💕💕

Leave a Reply

