Family · kids

Life with boys-The lessons

Boy: (noun)

1. A noise with dirt on it. 2. Most precious to their mothers

My boys–if you know them personally-you would know how sweet they can be. LIke-OMG melt your heart-sweet. And lawd have mercy can they be sour. Yup.  I have sour patch kids.  I think all the little people are though. Right?

When people ask me, “Whew, how do you do it? How do you keep up??” My answer to ANY of the boy questions–  “They keep me on my toes.” Its so true! These kids keep me laughing, and my heart is so full.

Speaking of my heart being full, in a parking lot a couple months back, an older woman and her husband walked past me in the parking lot. (Target parking lot-of course) And she yells as she is going by, ” Wow, you have your hands full with those two.” Now, in theory, she probably didn’t mean anything by it. But at the time, it  struck me as funny, and I answered as she was walking away ” So you can imagine my heart, ” with the happiest smile I could give her 😊 I can’t help but think that she wouldn’t have said that if I had had 2 girls. Why do people automatically assume life with boy is so rough? Now dont get me wrong, it has it’s crazy moments. Ok–more like crazy months-but really-all in all-its amazing.

And I have to say, these boys have taught me so much as a mom. And as a person——-Patience being a main factor. Now this one I am still trying to master, as patience is the virtue that really screws with me. (Pardon le French.)  I am not a patient person. I do not like to wait on people. I hate when people don’t show up on time, and I hate that it takes 20 years for my kids to exit the car. (Yikes TMI.)

Now you know my serious downfall. Please don’t judge me. I am working on it. I pray about it. But having these little people around has really taught me I have to be more patient. That I need to slow down….. Really-I have to walk slower. (Everyone tells me that–“Brandi SLOW DOWN! You are walking too fast!!! Which is quite hysterical, because I am a pudgy little thing with thick legs-but for whatever reason-they walk fast.) And really, it’s slightly ridiculous. I am in the grocery store for heaven’s sake-why do I need to be flying???

Seriously though, back to my point. I have realized patience is something you have to work on as a parent CONSTANTLY and these little ones are teaching me every day. When I am reading to them. When I have to wait on them to potty. When we go the park. Everything is a lesson-and they are teaching me!

Next lesson: Kindness

I have noticed since having these little monsters, I am looking for reasons to be kind. I want them to grow up treating others with the utmost respect–and I want them to help others to feel good about themselves. I have noticed, they pick up on our actions so quickly–and the not-so-good ones will stick quick. So I am doing my best to SHOW THEM kindness, not just preach it. So far, I think we are doing ok at this parenting job and teaching them to be half-way decent people.

Walking up a flight of stairs last month, Cash saw a pretty blonde its a gorgeous emerald lace dress–looks at me and says,  ” MOM-She was pretty.” The lady looks back at him and her face LIT UP. “That was so SWEET!” She walked away glowing and I knew he gave her a smile she would wear for the rest of the day.

And it isn’t just that–it’s Ford calling our 80 year old friend “My friend Neil.” It’s when he wants to hug someone just because. Its every time one of these littles says “Mom I love you” out of nowhere.  #melt btw. It’s hearing them tell another child “I’m proud of you” when they accomplish something they were working on. It’s them wanting to help their Dad in the garage and the sense of pride in themselves afterward.

They truly are amazing and kind hearted little people–and I hope others see that in them as well. The more I see them be kind, I want to do the same–and I tell you what-seeing these little guys in action can pull me out of a mood in the blink of an eye. I’m telling you-amazing.

And love. Y’all, you don’t know love like this until you have kids. I’m telling you– something about these guys makes me change the way I view everything and everyone. It’s phenomenal. Now, I’m not saying if you don’t have kids you don’t know love–that’s not true. Before my kiddos came along, I could promise you I loved my husband more than anyone could ever love anything. Come May 9, 2012. Ford entered this world after 19 hours of labor–and I loved something more…For a second. But seeing the way my husband loved this little person that we made–made MY love for this tall man from Ohio grow deeper.  It’s really just a circle people. All the love flying everywhere… You know those little circle diagrams with smaller circles coming off the one big circle in the middle? That’s like the love–starting with big circle in the middle, and as time goes on the love spreads to other people. That’s the best way I can describe it. (I know, pitiful ‘eh?)

But really, on the bad days, try to look at your little people and see the lessons they are teaching you. There is almost always something there. Even if they are being downright jerks–we can learn something-like–don’t lose your cool in Target Momma. You got this.

At any rate, I just felt like sharing a little about my good-hearted little guys and hopefully get some feedback from you all! Tell me about your littles! I love getting your emails and hope they continue. Everyone who doesn’t mind—feel free to answer in the comments! If you want to keep it private (some have and I love that as well) just shoot me an email!

All the love dolls 💋

 

Leave a Reply

