Beauty · Diy

DIY Detox bath….You need it. Trust me. 

Right? We all need a little “Me time” and this was the PERFECT way for me to have a relaxing night to myself. Want one too? Well it’s about DANG TIME. Don’t feel bad. Just do it.  

My situation? Hubby is out playing basketball with his friends. Just read the kiddos their story, prayers are said, and they are sound asleep–time for momma to #chill. And I can’t even lie–today has been a pretty chill day for me all around. Did a little housework, then went and hung by the pool with a friend. Kids were great–didn’t have to chase them anywhere or deal with any arguments. My youngest stayed on the first step all day and that is pretty awesome if you ask me. Know why? Yep. Momma gets to chill OUTSIDE the pool with adult conversation. Allll the praise hands right now. 🙌🏻 🙌🏻 🙌🏻

Anyways, pretty easy day ran right into pretty fantastic night. Kids were in bed at a halfway decent time, and then was time for me! 

So have any of you all tried detox baths? I am pretty new to the concept–but better late than never right? And for all you who haven’t hopped on the detox train–well–you need to start. Like-in 20 minutes…..Maaaaybe 30-but no longer. 

This is my second detox bath and this one was a bit more enjoyable than the last one–I am going to share with you what I put in both baths so you can compare and try as you please! 

My first one was about a month ago, and all I did was put a bar of Himalayan Pink salt in the tub with me and sat about 20 minutes. ( I bought it Here but I don’t think they carry it anymore. Either way–love this website for all natural makeup! Check them out!)    But My DEAR GOSH y’all. I could hardly walk after this bath! Im telling you–I probably wouldn’t have believed it if I didn’t experience it myself, but it takes all the nastiness out of you-and you FEEL IT. 

Here are just a few of the benefits of a detox bath:

  • Relieves sore muscles
  • Relieves headaches
  • Balances pH levels
  • Draws out toxins
  • Help treat cold and flu symptoms

I did it simply because I know I do a lot of things that make me susceptible to toxins, and this is a great way to rid some of those-all the while giving me a relaxing night (or maybe just 20 minutes) and I feel so glam while doing it.. And yes people-when you have kids–little things like this are what make you feel amazing. Just go with it. 

So earlier in the day, I coated my hair in a Deep conditioner and left it on until I rinsed off after my bath. Great for my hair, and a good way to start a pamper evening. I turned the lights off, lit some candles, grabbed a magazine and SOAKED. (Ok word to the wise–choose either the candles or the magazine. No lights+reading was a little difficult—I did it anyways because I am a rebel like that…..Trust me though. Pick one. Not both.) 

Here are the ingredients I used for the perfect bath:

  • Hot tub water. HOTTTTTT
  • 1/2 cup baking soda
  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
  • Dollop of coconut oil
  • Heavy handed squirt of vitamin E oil
  • 10-12 drops lavender essential oil

Now I would have included 1 cup of Epsom salts, but I didn’t have any. All I had was the little bit of my Himalayan Pink salt bar left, and threw it in the tub with me–it still did something because my muscles are relaxed! That mixed with the baking soda and vinegar must be quite the bathtub concoction, because I feel amazing now! Drained nonetheless, but fab. 

Don’t worry about smelling the vinegar either. It’s so diluted once it hits the water, you don’t smell anything other than the lavender. And if you prefer another essential oil, use it! Go with whatever tickles your fancy! 

I loved having the oils in this bath! I am a huge coconut oil fan anyways, so this was just the icing on the cake for me. Coconut oil+my ‘heavy handed squirt of vitamin e oil’ (Yeah that sounds odd and slightly awkward–but you got the point didn’t you?) left my skin feeling heavenly! I shaved my legs as the tub was draining, and didn’t even need a shave cream! Awesome!

Now I always shower after a bath because I feel slightly weird after sitting in my own filth. (Yuck-I can’t think about it too much or I gross myself out)  I also usually need to wash my hair as well, so it just works better for me! My skin is still so soft and silky smooth front the oils, even after a shower! 

Another thing–scrub the tub out when you are done. Please? Here is why: 

  1. Your dirty butt has just been on the floor-and someone else will is going to step there next. Eww.
  2. The next person to step there is going to slip if you don’t clean it up. The oil stuff is SLIPPERY! 
  3. Your tub may need cleaned anyways-here is a start. 

So this was my night in a nutshell! Bath+Blogging. Fabulous if you ask me. Now I am off to grab a snack and drink LOTS OF WATER! This is important after detoxing (just like after a massage!) because a lot of toxins have been released, and need to be flushed out! 

Now, go enjoy your bath-and see if you can make it to the couch afterward. 😉
All the love yall 💋

Leave a Reply

